Root Blog

Midori Takada – Through The Looking Glass


Midori Takada
Through The Looking Glass
RCA LP, 1983

01. Mr. Henri Rousseau’s Dream
02. Crossing
03. Trompe-L’oeil
04. Catastrophe Σ

Japanese percussionist’s solo album who appeared on both Mkwaju Ensemble albums, whose tracks are featured on Spencer D’s “Fairlights, Mallets & Bamboo” Rootmix. Thanks to Root Blog friend Ryan Chittick for the tip-off.

(link removed – sorry!)

  1. mike on January 15th, 2013

    thank you a million! i was looking all over for this!
    feel free to post anything else you snagged on LN-CC’s organic music sale :)

  2. jeff on January 15th, 2013

    thanks max! you inspired this one-

    will add looking glass.

  3. Spencer on January 16th, 2013

    haha, damn it maxwell! i was trying to keep a lid on this one (it’s on a mix i’m working on). amazing record!

    also, if weren’t aware, she’s also the vibraphonist on the infamous Still Way LP (!!!)

  4. ob pond on January 18th, 2013

    this sounds so much like that artwork ! !
    so good. especially “crossing”


  5. felicia on January 20th, 2013

    a rootblog zip a day keeps the doctor away! thank you again! fefe

  6. asleep on January 21st, 2013

    This one is really great. I’m agree with you ob pond :”crossing” is my favorite.

    thanks a lot.

  7. Yolp on January 2nd, 2016

    Thank you a lot!!

  8. Jozeffa on January 8th, 2016

    I’m so very happy that I found this here. Love this music. Thank you!

  9. Claudio on January 31st, 2016

    Nice to find this album here, thank you so much for posting it :)

  10. emoney on February 20th, 2016

    I keep trying to download this but it keeps saying “unexpected end of archive” i think there might be something wrong with the file

  11. Ayer on June 14th, 2016

    Woooo Thank you a lot !!!!!!

  12. fabíola de andrade borges on October 6th, 2016

    thanks <3

  13. Domingo on February 2nd, 2017

    Does anyone know who did the album artwork?

  14. abe on March 22nd, 2017


  15. Matthias on April 30th, 2017

    Thank you so much for this wonderful piece of music!!

    will have to look out for the Vinyl reissue…….