Root Blog

Archive for March, 2011

Primal 2

Alan Lamb
Primal Image
CD, 1995

01. Primal Image (29:34)
02. Beauty (16:52)




Morton Feldman Primer – Vol. 13 4

Morton Feldman
Turfan Fragments
Dog W/A Bone
CD, 2001

The Orchestra Of The S.E.M. Ensemble
Petr Kotik, Conductor

01. For Samuel Beckett (51:30)
02. Turfan Fragments (27:01)

For Samuel Beckett recorded on January 11, 2000, at Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, NY.
The Turfan Fragments recorded on March 12, 1997, at Brooklyn College Whitman Hall.


Lula Côrtes – R.I.P. 0


From Time-Lag:

“it is with great sadness that i share the news that our friend lula cortes passed away earlier today. his was a massive & unique spirit, and his passing will no doubt leave a great void in the lives of those who knew him, but also in the very life force of this world. it is hard to explain in words the profound effect that his music & friendship have had on my life. his passion for art & love & life itself was truly something to behold, and i have a hard time imagining that i could meet such a vital spirit more then once in a lifetime. indeed, i am deeply thankful to have known him, his music, his art, and his glow. he will be greatly missed.”

rest well lula.

take care,

GEL Spring Tour 1

Illuminati 1

Alvin Curran
Canti Illuminati
LP, 1982

01. Canti Illuminati [For Voice, Synthesizer, Tape] (26:50)
02. Canti Illuminati [For Choir, Synthesizer, Piano And Tape] (24:10)



Benefit Japan 1

Monstrous compilation to benefit Japan.

Get it here.

Part One:
1. Fennesz: “Fearless”
2. Helado Negro: “Cabeza Bella”
3. Stephan Mathieu: “(Excerpt from) The Floating World”
4. School of Seven Bells: “Midnight Sun”
5. Lawrence English: “Hotaru”
6. Noveller: “Darkheart”
7. Zeena Parkins: “The Letter”
8. Tom Carter (of Charalambides): “Mended”
9. Akron/Family: “Deep Kazoo”
10. The Ex: “Cold Weather Is Back”
11. Shinji Masuko (of Boredoms/DMBQ): “Botsuon”
12. Oneohtrix Point Never: “The Inside World”
13. Tokimonsta: “Sound Caves”
14. Joshua Abrams: “Jackdaws”
15. Keith Fullerton Whitman: “Anzac #3”
16. Ben Frost: “Snæugla”
17. David Daniell: “Shiho-hiru-tama”
18. Grouper: “Cassiopeia”
19. Tape: “Mirrors”
20. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma: “Moon in a Dewdrop”
21. D. Charles Speer: “Steel Infant”
22. Evan Caminiti (of Barn Owl): “Blue Veil”
23. Blackshaw, Wood, Wood & Tomlinson (James Blackshaw & Hush Arbors): “Are You Alright? (Chump Change)”
24. Nat Baldwin (of Dirty Projectors): “In the Hollows”
25. Chris Forsyth & Shawn Edward Hansen: “Dirty Pool Blues”
26. Zelienople: “Stone Faced About It”
27. Elm (Jon Porras of Barn Owl): “Diamond Dust”
28. Lobisomem: “Kusha”
29. Stabbing Eastwood (Tunde Adebimpe & Ryan Sawyer): “Thundersnow Mountain”
30. Alan Licht & Greg Malcolm: “Natasha Utting Reporting”
31. Scott Tuma: “To: Hasty”
32. Rhys Chatham: “Prayer for the People of Fukushima”

Part Two:
33. Prefuse 73: “The Only Climactic Dissonant Hums”
34. Growing: “Untitled”
35. James Plotkin (of Khanate): “Broken ’96”
36. Totem Test: “Pulse Prayer for Japan”
37. Marcus Schmickler (of Pluramon): “2.71828 Up”
38. Tim Hecker: “Hatred of Music (Double Gate Mix)”
39. Sylvain Chauveau: “Colours in Darkness”
40. Bear In Heaven: “The Days We Have”
41. Spires That In The Sunset Rise with Michael Zerang: “Collision Theory”
42. C. Spencer Yeh: “Solo Violin March 13th 2011”
43. Lau Nau: “Oi Kuolema”
44. Oren Ambarchi: “Merely A Portmanteau”
45. Warm Ghost: “Uncut Diamond (Dripping Pollen Mix)”
46. Bradley & Geofrey (Atlas Sound + White Rainbow): “Mr. Stephen’s Private Service”
47. Peter’s House Music: “Half Step”
48. Leb Laze: “Da Plane Da Plane”
49. Matthewdavid: “Stop Laughing / Be Honest”
50. Sam Prekop: “Lakes River”
51. Simon Scott: “Of You (Before 2082)”
52. Tetuzi Akiyama/Jon Mueller/Jim Schoenecker: “Untitled”
53. Shelley Burgon: “Let It Be New”
54. Giant Sand: “Recovery Mission”
55. William Tyler: “Tears and Saints”
56. Mountains: “Still Life”
57. Ben Vida: “Quadsweep +2 (snkglazz iii)”
58. Maria Chavez: “Natural Disaster #2_2011”
59. Cleared: “Nova”
60. Neptune: “FIG IV”
61. Water Fai: “Tokitomori”
62. Parts & Labor: “Dokonimonai”
63. Jackie-O Motherfucker: “Blood of Life”
64. Greg Davis: “Sho Sai Myo Kichijo Dharani”

John Oswald – Plunderphonic 2

John Oswald
Not On Label, CD 1989

01. Beatles (1:00)
02. Dab (6:34)
03. Way (3:47)
04. Replica (2:36)
05. White (4:11)
06. Dont (2:54)
07. Pretender (2:46)
08. Black (2:06)
09. Brown (4:05)
10. Fabulous (2:26)
11. Untitled (1:00)
12. Prelude (0:49)
13. Net (1:29)
14. Birth (5:22)
15. Pocket (3:22)
16. Mirror (4:26)
17. Mist (1:57)
18. Ten4 (0:25)
19. Tune (1:33)
20. Spring (3:42)
21. 7th (3:16)
22. Untitled (0:57)
23. Aria (3:49
24. Rainbow (5:49
25. Untitled (0:04)


Popol Vuh – In The Gardens Of Pharao / Aguirre 13

Popol Vuh
In The Garden Of Pharao / Aguirre
Celestial Harmonies, LP 1983

01. Aguirre (6:15)
02. In The Gardens Of Pharao (17:34)
03. Vuh (19:51)
04. Spirit Of Peace (20:46)

Early 80’s CD compilation of songs from 2 separate Popol Vuh releases (In den Gärten Pharaos and Aguirre). The fourth track ‘Spirit of Peace’ (not to be confused with an earlier Popol Vuh LP of the same name) is a 20min solo piano opus recorded specifically for this release in 1983. This is one of the most beautiful pieces of minimal piano ever… even Harold Budd’s sublime oeuvre doesn’t tap into the sheer desolate emotion Florian Fricke channels here. Listen closely in the 3rd movement and you can make out Florian’s voice softly singing along as he plays, whispered prayers, a hidden hymn. Incomparable, and utterly essential.


eli keszler – cold pin 0

eli keszler : cold pin from eli keszler on Vimeo.


Next Page »