Root Blog

Archive for the 'rootmix' Category

Root Blog Mix Vol. 5 – The Future 0

01 – Metal Rouge – Love, Awaken – from “Three For Malachi Ritscher” CD
02 – Starving Weirdos – Days Before Panic (edit) – from “Spirit Activity” Cassette
03 – Good Stuff House – Untitled – From “Endless Bummer” CD
04 – The North Sea – Gated Community (edit) – from “Gated Community” CD-R
05 – Common Eider, King Eider – Brown Trumps White – From “Figs, Wasps And Monotremes” CD
06 – The Alps – Shruti – From “A Path Through the Sun” CD-R
07 – Scott Goodwin – Arc (edit) – From “Arc / Off Light” CD


All releases scheduled to see the light of day sometime between now and the first of September. You know we don’t do release dates, right? This is not a complete list. Furthermore, any number of unforeseen items could get thrown in at some future date.

Root Blog Mix Vol. 4 – Summer Solstice 0

01. Eduardo Mateo РYulel̩
02. Jamhuri Jazz Band – Shangazi Naomba Taiti
03. Jackie Mittoo – After Christmas
04. S.E. Rogers – Toomus Meremereh Nor Good
05. Marconi Notaro – Symphony In Re
06. Gimmer Nicholson – Millenial Harbinger
07. Regional Orchestra of Kayes – Badage
08. Boubacar Traore – Adieu Pierrette
09. Satwa – Lia A Rainha Da Noite
10. Joyce – Um Gosto De Fruta
11. Ofo The Black Company – Allah Wakbarr
12. King Tubby – Country Gal Dub
13. Dawn Penn – No, No, No


Root Blog Mix – Vol. 3 – Xela: Vinyl Only 3


1. Odawas – The Maddening of Raven
2. Chris Corsano – What do we get from Cricket That we Don’t Get from Other Games?
3. Hatred – Untitled
4. Arthur Lipsett – A Trip Down Memory Lane
5. Dorothy Ashby – For Some We Loved
6. Erykah Badu – The Healer
7. Earth – Filament
8. Can’t – A Dream
9. Starving Weirdos – Mt. Josephet
10. Nasser Rastegar-Nejad – Bayat-E Esfehan & Saghinameh
11. Ilyas Ahmed – Return to Ours
12. Thuja – Pehr Space
13. London Symphony Orchestra – Barber’s Adagio for Strings

Mix compiled from record by John Twells, aka Xela.
Aside from drinking black tea, John also co-runs the always impressive Type Records.

Root Blog Mix – Vol. 2 – Closing Hour: Live from Mississippi Records 3

Closing Hour: Live from Mississippi Records
Selections and Running Commentary by Karen Antumes, Ryan Carlile, and Scott Goodwin

1. The Slits – Bass Dub
2. White Noise – Your Hidden Dreams
3. Mingering Mike – There’s Nothing Wrong With You Baby
4. Diamonds Are Forever OST – Diamonds Are Forever
5. Orchestre Regional de Keyes – Kayi
6. Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – I Hear Voices
7. Van Morrison – Wild Night
8. Temple City Kazoo Orchestra – Whole Lotta Love (Screwed)
9. Como Fife and Drum (George Mitchell Collection) – Vol. 35
10. Eternal Tapestry – Emerald Forest of Peace (Truncated)


Ryan and I took a trip down the street to the record store and threw on some records where Karen was winding down the day over there. Recorded sound veritè style to Zoom H4 — bus sounds, customers, and all. I guess Eric Isaacson (who owns the shop and co-runs the label) is interviewing Mingering Mike for Yeti Magazine later this week. Mike McGonigal of Yeti makes a cameo on here as well if you listen close enough.

-Scott Goodwin

Scott Goodwin is resident of Portland Oregon, an avid tea drinker, a cook and a member of the band Bonus. Root Strata will be releasing his first solo cd “Off Light” later this year.

Root Blog Mix – Vol. 1 – Freedom Shapes! 2

01. East New York Ensemble De Music – Ti-Ti
02. Max Roach – Garvey’s Ghost
03. Philip Cohran And The Artistic Heritage Ensemble – El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz
04. Clifford Thornton & The Jazz Composer’s Orchestra – O Desayo
05. Marion Brown – Once Upon A Time
06. Rashied Ali & Frank Lowe – Duo Exchange (Pt. 2)
07. Alice Coltrane – A Love Supreme


« Previous Page