Root Blog

The Music of Richard Maxfield

Richard Maxfield
The Music of Richard Maxfield

01 Structures
02 Pastoral Symphony
03 For Sonny Wilson
04 Variations for String Quartet
05 Amazing Grace
06 Bacchanale
07 Perspectives II for Lamonte Young
08 Sine Music (A Swarm of Butterflies Encountered Over the Ocean)
09 Fermentation
10 Piano Concert for David Tudor
11 Cough Music
12 Night Music
13 Piano Sonata #2

+ a KPFA Interview from 1960

+ Richard Maxfield ‘ESSAYS’ PDF from An Anthology of Chance Operations

compiled by Greg Davis (January 2011)

Audio zip
Interview & PDF

Thanks a lot Greg!

  1. Fabio "Mr. Dreamcast" on February 4th, 2011

    Hey, where did you found that music? Is an official exit or a bootleg?
    I search music of Richard Maxfield for years and a few months I found (after a research very hard) the split Maxfield/Budd.
    But this post is… much more than this!
    If this one exist as release I MUST HAVE this :)

  2. Ryan on March 3rd, 2011

    awesome. thanks!

  3. Thomas Patteson on May 18th, 2011

    What a wonderful resource! Thanks for sharing. Any discographical information you can provide about these tracks would be welcome.

  4. Mark on June 3rd, 2012

    I’m so sorry to stumble across this now, too late – the megaupload link leads only to an FBI warning. I’ve been fascinated by Maxfield’s music since I got the Columbia/Odyssey “Music of our Time” record with his “Night Music”, Steve Reich’s “Come Out”, and Pauline Oliveros’ “I of IV” when I was in high school – one of the most influential albums I ever encountered, for sure! After that, there’s the reissued material on New World (“Oak of the Golden Dreams”, split with Harold Budd) and one track on the Ohm compilation …. but that’s all I’ve ever found. You list several other pieces above and it would be fascinating to hear these; is it too late to upload them to some other site for distribution?

  5. Richard on August 15th, 2012

    As with the previous comment I have a fascination with Maxfield esp. after reading the Cage Bio Roaring Silence where he talks about working on the fontana mix with Maxfield. Please do us the favor of moving this compilation to mediafire.

    Just stumbled on the site today while looking for Maxfield piece Amazing Grace that I really wanted a friend to hear. Really looking forward to digging into your compilations.

  6. Jefre on August 16th, 2012


  7. jeroenemans on August 20th, 2012

    does nae’ work!

  8. Jefre on August 21st, 2012

    URGH. Not sure what that is about — will fix asap.

  9. gareth on September 8th, 2012

    hi jefre, any luck with re-upping this one?

  10. dan on September 11th, 2012

    Jefre, I’ve been refreshing your page for a few days with the same question :). Hope you get a chance to soon. Thanks!

  11. graumich on September 17th, 2012

    “Invalid or Deleted File.” Even for the interview link. Bahhhh. I’ve been looking for much of this this stuff for years.

  12. Jefre on September 19th, 2012

    Ok, all set. Hopefully this time the files will stick around longer!

  13. gareth on September 19th, 2012

    Sterling work! Thank you…

  14. dan on September 21st, 2012

    Awesome! Thank you very much!

  15. graumich on October 5th, 2012

    Yes, working again. And very much appreciated.

  16. Dazzradd on January 12th, 2013

    Not working :-) just linking to electronic music compilation on amazon! any chance of a re-up.

  17. Mosa on June 28th, 2014

    Highly appreciated!
    Many thanks

  18. daniel70 on June 28th, 2014

    how wonderful to stumble across this! thanks!

  19. jAN VAN TOORN on July 1st, 2014


  20. juergen on February 2nd, 2015

    Hey could you reupload please?
    Thanks in advance!

  21. ali on March 1st, 2022

    please re-up!