Root Blog

Spirit of The Golden Juice

F.J. McMahon
Spirit of The Golden Juice
Private pressing, LP – 1969

01. Sister Brother (4:05)
02. The Road Back Home (3:12)
03. Early Blue (3:02)
04. Black Night Woman (3:22)
05. One Alone Together (2:57)
06. Five Year Kansas Blues (2:44)
07. Enough It Is Done (2:35)
08. The Learned Man (2:37)
09. The Spirit of the Golden Juice (3:33)


  1. the clayton peacock on April 28th, 2012

    This is super awesome. Super duper awesome, even. Thanks!

  2. thom klepach on April 29th, 2012

    amazing! really- you’ve put some great stuff up here before maxime but this one is stellar. i don’t comment too often on too many blogs but this one really hit me- i’ve been head noddin’ to it all morning. nice work! how did you find it? do you know anything else about McMahon?

    thank you warmly and profusely!


  3. thom on April 29th, 2012

    and that tasteful organ solo at ~2minute mark on early blue— like maple syrup on my oat groats…

  4. Maxime on April 29th, 2012

    hello Thom! Many thanks for your sweet comments, they’re much appreciated. To my knowledge, FJ McMahon only put out this one record before retiring from music. It looks like he was selling cd copies of his record via his website and could be reached easily a couple of years ago. But the website is down now..Rev-Ola reissued on cd the record a few years ago. But that’s it. As to how I found it, I accidentally stumbled across his name, during one of my night drifts on YouTube ;)


  5. Christian on April 30th, 2012

    Excellent private rural folk find! This is a fantastic album through and through. The original pressing on Accent fetches quite a bit of money too. Thanks for all of your efforts to shed some light on lesser known gems.

  6. Wilder Knochenmann on May 2nd, 2012

    Really digging this… thank you for shining a light, Maxime. Your mixes are a frequent delight to these ears as well.

  7. neil on May 23rd, 2012

    Thanks for posting this, amazingly good. Really gently creeps it’s way in. I’m in the UK and got a copy from amazon for £5.99 including postage, the Rev-ola 2009 cd reissue not a vinyl or anything rare though. still have copies too along with other rev-ola stuff like Fred Neil etc. The cd sounds really good, Norman Blake done an excellent job. Cd is a standard jewel case (yeuch!) has a nice wee set of liner notes (hooray!) and is just a lovely listen as the sun pinkens the clouds and dips into the water. Again thanks for bringing this to peoples attention.

  8. practical life on July 29th, 2012

    ahhhhh listening to this again lately. its the shiiiiiiiit