Root Blog

Mississippi Records Tape Series, Vol. 8 – Wrong Time To Be Right

V/A – Wrong Time To Be Right
Mississippi Records Tape Series, Vol. 8 – Post War Folk Music

Side A
01. Elizabeth Cotton – Reuben
02. Scott & Rosie Dunbar – Easy Rider
03. Charlie Feathers & R.L. Burnside – Feel Good Again
04. John Ziegler – Who’s Gonna Be Your Man
05. Robert Pete Williams – Grown So Ugly
06. Blind Willie McTell – Dyin’ Crap Shooters Blues
07. Carl Perkins – Her Love Rubbed Off
08. Funny Lewis – On The Road Again

Side B
01. Jimmy Lee Williams – Hoot Your Belly, Give Your Backbone Ease
02. ??? – ???
03. William Robertson – Frolicking
04. Cast King – Wrong Time To Be Right
05. Joseph Speace – Sloop John B
06. John Hurt – Spanish Fandang
07. Watson Family – Your Long Journey
08. Michael Hurley – Lonsme Graveyard
09. Rocky Erickson – Right Track Now


  1. Sam on January 26th, 2009

    thanks for all the mississippi! i can’t get enough of their stuff :)

  2. Andrew on January 26th, 2009

    Thanks again for these. This one looks like it will be another great addition.

  3. Tom McKeand on February 7th, 2009

    I was really excited about this, but I can’t unzip it, both my computers say it’s corrupted, I tried downloading it a few times aswell

  4. chicken King Shultz on February 12th, 2009

    ‘Funny’ Lewis? Is he related to Jerry or Furry?

  5. […] Time to Be Right (subtitle: Post-War Folk Music) which I have listened to a dozen times at least, downloadable from the Root Strata blog.  One of the standout songs is a real laid back country blues number with spoon percussion by a […]

  6. kreeningsons on April 23rd, 2010

    Does Mississippi Records intentionally mislabel their tracks? That song is Charlie Feathers & Junior Kimbrough, not R.L. Burnside, and it’s Roky Erikson. And those are obvious.

  7. on July 27th, 2015

    Hey could you put out a new link for this download? I love this mix and would really like to get a copy.